Window Tint Medical Exemptions

Window Tint Medical ExemptionsWindow tint medical exemptions allow you to install window tint which is darker than normally permitted by state laws. Eligibility for medical exemptions and tint film darkness depend on each state. Some states do not permit darker window tint even for medical reasons.

We gathered all window tint medical exceptions information for your convenience below. Wherever possible we included links to relevant official websites, including Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Department of Transportation, or Department of Public Safety.

Links to official medical exemption application forms are also listed for states which provided them. If the forms are not editable online, you will have to print them, and mail them or bring them in person to the relevant agency.


Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) can issue medical exemptions for vehicle owners or habitual passengers. Written statement from a licenses physical in Alabama is required. Exemption is granted to persons with light-sensitive prophyria. Decal with unique identification number must be on windshield.

For more information see:


Alaska allows medical exemptions for drivers or passengers who frequently travel in the vehicle. Medical exemptions must be renewed annually by an Alaska licensed physician.

For more information see:


Arizona permits medical exceptions. Persons who own or frequently travel can apply for a medical exemption. Medical exemptions allow darker tint on side windows and altering tint colors.

For more information see:


Any medical condition is eligible for window tint medical exemption if attested by a physician. Windshield can have 50%, side windows 20%, and rear window 10% VLT. Medical exemptions are valid for 3 years after issue date.


Licensed physician, surgeon , dermatologist or optometrist can issue a signed letter or document stating the person needs to be shielded from the sun due to a medical condition. Only clear, colorless and transparent film may be applied. Any such materials or devices must not be used during night.

For more information see:


Colorado does not permit medical exemptions for window tint.


Connecticut allows medical exemptions for tint. Minimum 20% VLT is permitted. Validated form must be carried in vehicle at all times.

For more information see:


Delaware allows medical exemptions. MV495 form (Application for Medical Waiver of Tinted Window Law) is no longer available online. You can request the form in your nearest DMV facility.

For more information see:


Florida allows window tinting medical exemptions for lupus, dermatomyositis, albinism, vitiligo, xeroderma pigmetosum or other autoimmune disease or medical condition.

Medical exemption certificate in Florida has no expiration date and is non-transferable. $6 fee is charged.

For more information see:


Georgia permits medical waivers for window tint. State licensed physician or optometrist must attest that you require special shielding from sun due to medical condition. $10 application fee is charged.

With medical exemptions a minimum 23% VLT is required (with 3% variance).

Medical exemptions will not be granted if adequate protection can be provided by protective eyewear devices.

For more information see:


State of Hawaii does not currently have any regulations allowing medical exemptions for tinted windows.


70% windshield and 20% tint on other windows with no more than 35% luminous reflectance is allowed under a medical waiver. Written verification from a licensed physician must be carried in vehicle.


Medical exemptions are permitted. Drivers must obtain a copy of certified statement or letter from a licensed physician. Illinois laws allow systemic or discoid lupus erythematosus, disseminated superficial actinic porokeratosis, albinism, but also permit other medical conditions to obtain exemptions. Copy of certified statement must be kept in the installer’s permanent records.

Medical exemptions are not given when sunglasses or other protective eye devices provide sufficient protection.

Certificate must be renewed every 4 years.

For more information see:


Indiana permits medical exceptions.  Medical reasons must be attested to by a physician or optometrist licensed to practice in Indiana, and the physician’s or optometrist’s certification of that condition must be carried in the vehicle. The physician’s or optometrist’s certificate must be renewed annually.

For more information see:


Since July 2012 Iowa does not permit darker tint due to medical reasons. Windows may have down to 35% VLT but only if they were darkened due to medical condition prior to July 4, 2012. DOT form #432020 signed by a physician prior to this date must still be carried in vehicle. If the form was lost The Office of Vehicle and Motor Carrier Services can issue a replacement.


Kansas makes no exemptions for special tint due to medical reasons.


Currently there are no laws or regulations allowing special tint due to medical reasons.


Louisiana permit operating a vehicle with darker tint for registered vehicle owner, spouse, or family member of a person who received a medical exemption. Medical conditions you can get exemptions for include World Health Organization International Classification of Disease ICD- 9-CM conditions albinoism, lupus, porphyria, or other conditions such as photophobia.

Department of Public Safety and Corrections issues a special decal which must be prominently displayed on vehicle at all times indicating tinted windows for medical reasons. Medical exemption affidavit must also always be carried in vehicle.

If you received an exemption and installed darker tint on your vehicle, you are obligated to remove it in case of sale or transfer of vehicle.

Any exemptions granted in Louisiana are subject to review every three years. Persons convicted of violent crimes or drug offenses are not eligible for medical exemptions.

For more information see:


Maine permits medical exemptions.

For more information see:


Maryland permits medical waivers for window tint.

For more information see:

If the document is missing on their website, contact Automotive Safety Enforcement Division of Maryland State Police for more info.


Massachusetts Department of Transportation’s Registry of Motor Vehicles issues medical exemptions. Form is available below, and must be filled and signed by a licensed physician. Exemption can only be issued by vehicles owned or operated by persons with medical conditions.

Furthermore waivers are only issued to persons who are permanently photophobic or photosensitive, and when such conditions can not be corrected with sunglasses.

For more information see:


State of Michigan allows medical exemptions for persons who are light sensitive or photosensitive. Owner or operator of a motor vehicle must have a letter signed by a licensed physician in the vehicle.

Special window treatments installed due to medical conditions must not interfere or obstruct driver’s vision of highway or intersecting highway.

Michigan does not specify minimum window tint darkness allowed under medical exemptions, but it must not have greater than 35% light reflection.

For more information see:


Window tinting medical exemptions are permitted. Licensed physician’s prescription or statement must be in vehicle at all times. This statement must specify the minimum percentage of light transmittance (VLT) required to satisfy the medical needs of the patient.

This statement must also contain an expiration date, which must be no more than two years after the date it was issued.

For more information see:


Licensed physicians can issue signed affidavit stating the person has a physical condition or disease requiring greater sun protection.

Certificate of medical exemption on a form prepared by the Commissioner of Public Safety and signed by the person on whose behalf it was issued must be displayed on vehicle’s dashboard.

Medical exemption form is not provided online. Contact Mississippi Department of Public Safety for the form or more information.


Missouri Highway Patrol issues special permits for window tint. Written prescription from a physician must be provided to your local Highway Patrol headquarters specifying the tint percentage needed due to a person’s medical condition.

Window tinting permit must be carried in vehicle at all times. When the permit is issued, you will also receive a sticker for lower-left corner of your windshield, and decal which will be placed on rear window or rear bumper.

For more information see:


Signed affidavit stating reasons for medical exemption can be provided by a licensed physician,  licensed physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse.

Highway Patrol or local law enforcement agency may grant a waiver based on the affidavit. Waiver will contain a clear identification of the vehicle, date issued, name and owner of vehicle, reason for granting the waiver, date when it becomes effective, and signature of law enforcement officer granting the waiver.

No forms are provided online. Once you obtained your doctor’s statement, bring it to your nearest Highway Patrol or other law enforcement office for more information.


No medical exemptions are specified in Nebraska statutes.


Nevada allows medical exemptions. Maximum of 20% VLT can be approved.

For more information see:

New Hampshire

New Hampshire allows persons with medical waiver to have up to 35% VLT on front side windows and windshield. NH laws include medical conditions such as extreme intolerance to light, allergic reactions to the sun, melanoma, lupus, porphyria, or any other medical condition which is aggravated by exposure to sun.

Medical waivers once granted are valid for 2 years and may be granted for two vehicles. No fees are required.

For more information see:

New Jersey

New Jersey permits medical exemptions. Windshield and front side windows may have below 70% and 35% VLT respectively. Conditions include ophthalmic or dermatological photosensitivity, chronic actinic dermatitis, photosensitive eczema, and skin cancers having an associated diagnosis of chronic actinic dermatitis.

Medical exemption certificate must be in vehicle at all times. Label with name of sun-screening material or product manufacturer, and registration number of facility that installed the tint must be displayed on windshield and front right side window. Tint film installed due to medical waivers must be removed prior to sale of vehicle.

For more information see:

New Mexico

New Mexico permits unspecified VLT with medical exemptions. Physician or optometrist licensed in New Mexico can issue affidavit which must be in vehicle at all times.

New York

Latest New York Health department regulations updated in December 2017 include the following medical conditions: albinism, chronic actinic dermatitis/actinic reticuloid, dermatomyositis, lupus erythematosus, porphyria, xeroderma (pigmentosa) pigmentosum, severe drug photosensitivity, photophobia, or any other condition or disorder causing severe photosensitivity in which the individual is required for medical reasons to be shielded from the direct rays of the sun.

For more information see:

North Carolina

North Carolina allows windshield tint with 70% VLT under medical waivers. Permit can be issued for 2 to 5 years. Medical exception sticker must be displayed in the lower left-hand corner of the rear window. Failure to display the sticker is punishable by a $200 fine.

For more information see:

North Dakota

North Dakota no longer allows medical exemptions for window tint.


Ohio laws do not mention any medical exceptions for window tint.


Oklahoma laws allow medical exemptions. Exemptions are issued by The Commissioner of Public Safety for vehicle owners or habitual passengers. Medical waivers allow further reducing VLT on rear window and side windows, and altering color.

To receive a waiver you must provide a written attestation from a physician licensed pursuant to Section 495 of Title 59 of the Oklahoma Statutes.

For more info contact Oklahoma Department of Public Safety.


Oregon permits window tint medical waivers. Lower light transmission tint may be installed on side and rear windows of a vehicle registered in the name of the person, legal guardian, or household member.

An affidavit from a licensed physician or optrometrist, a prescription, or letter on the practitioner’s letterhead must be carried in vehicle at all times and presented to police officers if asked. This letter or notarized affidavit must state the physical condition that requires darker window tint.

No permits are issued by DMV / Department of Transportation, and documents above are enough to qualify for exemptions.

For more information see:


Department of Transportation can issue certificate of exemption for vehicles where owner or member of household of the owner or registrant who regularly drives or is driven in the vehicle, suffers from a physical condition determined by the department, in consultation with the Medical Advisory Board, to justify the exemption.

For more information see:

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles issues stickers which must be applied to driver’s side window. Exemptions are issued to vehicle owners or legal guardians of persons required to be shielded from the sun. Affidavit signed by a physician or optometrist must be provided to DMV.

For more information see:

South Carolina

Signed affidavit by a licensed physician or optometrist must be in vehicle at all times. Affidavit must state that the person has a physical condition making it necessary to equip the vehicle with otherwise illegal window tint. Affidavit must be updated every two years.

South Dakota

No exemptions are specified in South Dakota statutes.


Any person with a medical condition that is adversely affected by ultraviolet light may submit a statement to the commissioner from that person’s physician certifying that the person has a medical condition that requires reduction of light transmission in the windows of the person’s vehicle.

The commissioner shall submit the certified statement to the department’s medical review board for evaluation. If the review board finds the exemption warranted, it shall recommend that the commissioner authorize the exemption, and the degree of tinting exemption that is appropriate. The commissioner shall then supply a certificate or decal, indicating the degree of exemption, to the applicant who shall display it in the motor vehicle.

For more information see:


Motorists may request a medical exemption from the Texas Department of Public Safety by submitting an application and a signed statement or prescription from a licensed physician, ophthalmologist or optometrist. This statement should state that it is his or her opinion that the exemption is necessary to safeguard the motorist’s health.

With medical waivers light transmission can be under 25% VLT on any windows except windshield. Untinted UV filter can be applied to windshield provided it does not reduce light transmission more than 5%.

For more information see:


State of Utah does not provide any information about medical waivers and tint exemptions.


Vermont allows medical exemptions. Filled application with a signed document by licensed physician or optometrist must be provided to The Commissioner. Exemption permits must be renewed every 4 years.

Exemption only allows the tinting of side windows next to driver.

For more information see:


To apply for a medical authorization in Virginia, the person with the medical condition must submit a completed Sun-Shading Medical Authorization Application (MD-20) to DMV. The application must include vehicle information and a statement from a physician, physician’s assistant, nurse practitioner, ophthalmologist, or optometrist certifying that sunshading is necessary for the individual’s health.

The vehicle owner will receive a new registration card with “sunshading” printed in the Special Conditions space. This registration card serves as verification that the vehicle is authorized to have sunshading.

With medical exemption you are permitted to tint front side windows down to 35% VLT, and entire front windshield to 70% VLT, or top 5 inches of the windshield to 35% VLT.

For more information see:


All windows and top 6 inches of windshield may have greater light reduction under a medical exemption. Written verification from a licensed physician must be in vehicle, stating that operator or passenger must be protected from exposure to sunlight for physical or medical reasons.

Washington DC

Waivers are issued in the name of the person with the condition and are valid as long as the person has the condition or until the vehicle is sold.

To apply for a waiver, the person with the medical condition must submit a completed Vehicle Tint Waiver Request Form to the DC DMV Inspection Station. Form requires a physician statement, and authorizes you to equip your vehicle with window tinting films or applications that exceed the regulatory limit as indicated on the form.

For more information see:

West Virginia

WV laws permit permit medical exemptions for motor vehicles in the name of a person or person’s legal guardian who has in their possession an affidavit signed by a physician or optometrist stating the person has a medical condition making it necessary to use darker or more reflective window tint.

The affidavit must be in the possession of the person so afflicted, or the person’s legal guardian, at all times while being transported in the motor vehicle.


Medical exceptions are permitted by Wisconsin laws. A written statement from the treating physician or Christian Science practitioner which identifies the patient, the medical condition justifying the recommendation, whether the condition is temporary or permanent and the vehicle to which the recommendation applies, including the make, model, year and vehicle identification number, shall be carried in the vehicle at all times.

Exemptions are only valid for front side windows and must not be under 35% VLT.


Medical certificates are issued by Wyoming Department of Transportation. Signed statement from physician or optometrist is required, stating the medical condition and necessity to shield a person from sun.

Under a medical waiver windshield must have over 70% VLT. Other windows may have no less than 25% VLT. Certificates are valid for as long as medical condition persists, or until vehicle is sold.

For more information see:

Most states have different laws and regulations regarding window tint medical exemptions. Few states have no laws or do not permit medical exceptions.

In all states where medical exceptions are permitted you must provide proof of a medical necessity for darker tint. It is illegal for doctors or other medical practitioners to submit false statements, so ensure your medical condition is valid before you request a doctor’s statement or affidavit.