Washington D.C. Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in Washington D.C. were enacted in 1994. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Washington D.C. so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in Washington D.C.

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Washington D.C. is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed along the top of the windshield above the manufacturer's AS-1 line or top 5"
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 50% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 50% of light in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed along the top of the windshield above the manufacturer's AS-1 line or top 5"
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light inside.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Window tint reflection in Washington D.C.

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Washington D.C. window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: No reference in current laws.
  • Back Side windows: No reference in current laws.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: No reference in current laws.
  • Back Side windows: No reference in current laws.

Other Washington D.C. window tint rules and regulations:

Washington D.C. does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: No restrictions.
  • Restricted Colors: No tint colors are explicitly forbidden.
  • Certificates: Tint certificates are not required in District of Columbia.
  • Stickers: No sticker to identify legal tinting is necessary.
  • Medical Exceptions: Washington D.C. Medical waivers are permitted, consult your local DMV for further info.
  • Penalties: $50 citation. Up to $1000 fine if not in compliance after 5 days.
Keep in mind that Washington D.C. tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
Washington DC Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in Washington D.C. was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in Washington D.C. were enacted in 1994. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of Washington D.C. Info

Washington D.C.

Washington, D.C., formally the District of Columbia and commonly referred to as Washington, "the District", or simply D.C., is the capital of the United States.

Capital: Washington, D.C.

Population: 658,893 (2014)

Area: 68.3 sq miles (176.9 km²)

Cities ▼

Cities in Washington D.C.:

Counties ▼

Counties in Washington D.C.:

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

Code of the District of Columbia - § 50–2207.02. Tinted windows prohibited.


Medical exemption info:

DC DMV - Medical Waivers for vehicle window tinting restrictions

Washington DC - Window Tint Waiver Request (.pdf file)



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in Washington D.C.?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

Wyoming Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in Wyoming were enacted in 1996. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Wyoming so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in Wyoming

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Wyoming is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line or top 5 inches.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 28% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 28% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 28% of light in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line or top 5 inches.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 28% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

Window tint reflection in Wyoming

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Wyoming window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Other Wyoming window tint rules and regulations:

Wyoming does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required in Wyoming if any window behind driver is tinted.
  • Restricted Colors: No red, yellow or amber on windshield. No color restrictions for other windows.
  • Certificates: Film manufacturers don't need to certify the film they sell in this state.
  • Stickers: No sticker to identify legal tinting is required by law.
  • Medical Exceptions: Wyoming tint laws allow medical exemptions for darker tint.
Keep in mind that Wyoming tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
Wyoming Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in Wyoming was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in Wyoming were enacted in 1996. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of Wyoming Info

Wyoming

Wyoming is a state in the mountain region of the Western United States: 10th most extensive, but the least populous and the second least densely populated of the 50 United States. The western two thirds of the state is covered mostly with the mountain ranges and rangelands in the foothills of the Eastern Rocky Mountains, while the eastern third of the state is high elevation prairie known as the High Plains. Cheyenne is the capital and the most populous city of Wyoming with a population of nearly 60,000 people within its city proper.

Capital: Cheyenne

Population: 576,412

Area: 97,814 sq mi (253,348 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in Wyoming: Cheyenne, Casper, Laramie, Jackson, Cody, Gillette, Rock Springs, Sheridan, Lander, Riverton, Thermopolis, Rawlins, Pinedale, Evanston, Green River, Pavillion, Buffalo, Buford, Worland, Douglas, Spearfish, Sundance, Powell, Torrington, Kemmerer, Dubois, Saratoga, Wheatland, Lost Springs, Afton, Ten Sleep, Elk Mountain, Lusk, Greybull, Basin, Medicine Bow, Lovell, Newcastle, Big Piney, Fort Laramie, Glenrock, Willwood, Meeteetse, Alpine, Pine Bluffs, Goose Egg, Kaycee, Grand Encampment, Guernsey, Opal

Counties ▼

Counties in Wyoming: Albany, Big Horn, Campbell, Carbon, Converse, Crook, Fremont, Goshen, Hot Springs, Johnson, Laramie, Lincoln, Natrona, Niobrara, Park, Platte, Sheridan, Sublette, Sweetwater, Teton, Uinta, Washakie, Weston

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

Wyoming Statutes Section 31-5-962: Sunscreening devices. (section 31-5-962 in Title 31, Chapter 5, Article 9)



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in Wyoming?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

Wisconsin Window Tinting Laws

Wisconsin window tint laws permit windshield tint only on AS-1 line. Front side windows must have more than 50% VLT. Back side windows and rear windshield must allow over 35% of light in (35% VLT).

Car window tinting laws in Wisconsin were enacted in 1996. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Wisconsin so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in Wisconsin

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Wisconsin is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 50% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 50% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Window tint reflection in Wisconsin

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Wisconsin window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: Tinting film must not be reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Tinting film must not be reflective.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: Tinting film must not be reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Tinting film must not be reflective.

Other Wisconsin window tint rules and regulations:

Wisconsin does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required in this state if the rear window is tinted below 60% VLT.
  • Restricted Colors: Wisconsin does not restrict tint colors.
  • Tint Variance: 3% variance allowed.
  • Certificates: Film manufacturers don't need to certify the film they sell in this state.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is not required.
  • Medical Exceptions: Wisconsin allows medical exemptions for darker tint.
Keep in mind that Wisconsin tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
Wisconsin Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in Wisconsin was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in Wisconsin were enacted in 1996. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of Wisconsin Info

Wisconsin

Wisconsin is a U.S. state located in the north-central United States, in the Midwest and Great Lakes regions. It is bordered by Minnesota to the west, Iowa to the southwest, Illinois to the south, Lake Michigan to the east, Michigan to the northeast, and Lake Superior to the north. Wisconsin is the 23rd state by total area and the 20th most populous. The state capital is Madison, and its largest city is Milwaukee, which is located on the western shore of Lake Michigan. The state comprises 72 counties.

Capital: Madison

Population: 5,726,398

Area: 65,497.82 sq mi (169,639 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in Wisconsin: Milwaukee, Madison, Green Bay, Wisconsin Dells, Oshkosh, Appleton, Eau Claire, Kenosha, Waukesha, Wausau, La Crosse, Racine, Sheboygan, Manitowoc, Stevens Point, Fond du Lac, Lake Geneva, Wauwatosa, Janesville, Neenah, New Berlin, West Bend, Menomonee Falls, Beloit, Brookfield, New Glarus, Chippewa Falls, Sun Prairie, De Pere, Mequon, West Allis, Cedarburg, Marshfield, Menomonie, Pleasant Prairie, Port Washington, Oak Creek, Rhinelander, Bell Center, Baraboo, Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin Rapids, Hustler, Kaukauna, River Falls, Superior, Kohler, Bayfield, Fitchburg, Muskego

Counties ▼

Counties in Wisconsin: Adams, Ashland, Bad Ax, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Buffalo, Burnett, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Crawford, Dallas, Dane, Dodge, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Fond Du Lac, Forest, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Iron, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, Kewaunee, La Crosse, La Pointe, Lafayette, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Marquette, Menominee, Milwaukee, Monroe, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Portage, Price, Racine, Richland, Rock, Rusk, Sauk, Sawyer, Shawano, Sheboygan, St. Croix, Taylor, Trempealeau, Vernon, Vilas, Walworth, Washburn, Washington, Waukesha, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago, Wood

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

Wisconsin Statutes section 347.43: Safety glass (PDF file; scroll to section 347.43)

Wisconsin State Legislature - 305.32: Vent, side and rear windows



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in Wisconsin?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

West Virginia Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in West Virginia were enacted in 1991. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in West Virginia so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in West Virginia

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in West Virginia is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

Window tint reflection in West Virginia

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. West Virginia window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Other West Virginia window tint rules and regulations:

West Virginia does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required in this state if any window behind driver is tinted.
  • Restricted Colors: Yellow, amber and red window tint colors are not permitted.
  • Certificates: Manufacturers of film need to certify the film they sell in West Virginia. Ask your dealer if they are using certified film.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on each tinted car window.
  • Medical Exceptions: West Virginia allows medical exemptions for special tint.
  • Penalties: Misdemeanor with maximum $200 fine.
Keep in mind that West Virginia tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
West Virginia Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in West Virginia was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in West Virginia were enacted in 1991. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of West Virginia Info

West Virginia

West Virginia is a U.S. state located in the Appalachian region of the Southern United States. It is bordered by Virginia to the southeast, Kentucky to the southwest, Ohio to the northwest, Pennsylvania to the north, and Maryland to the northeast. West Virginia is the 41st largest by area and the 38th most populous of the 50 United States. The capital and largest city is Charleston.

Capital: Charleston

Population: 1,855,413

Area: 24,230 sq mi (62,755 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in West Virginia: Charleston, Morgantown, Huntington, Martinsburg, Wheeling, Beckley, Parkersburg, Harpers Ferry, Clarksburg, Snowshoe, Charles Town, Fairmont, Bluefield, Elkins, Lewisburg, Bath, Sunlight, Shepherdstown, Point Pleasant, Weirton, Spice, Buckhannon, Princeton, Bridgeport, Falling Waters, Reader, Moundsville, White Sulphur Springs, Hurricane, Paw Paw, Summersville, Mannington, Barboursville, Poca, Sophia, Coalwood, Fayetteville, Nitro, Woodman, Bomont, West Virginia, Keyser, Welch, Green Bank, Kabletown, Weston, Logan, New Martinsville, Oceana, St. Albans, Williamson

Counties ▼

Counties in West Virginia: Barbour, Berkeley, Boone, Braxton, Brooke, Cabell, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Fayette, Gilmer, Grant, Greenbrier, Hampshire, Hancock, Hardy, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Kanawha, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mineral, Mingo, Monongalia, Monroe, Morgan, Nicholas, Ohio, Pendleton, Pleasants, Pocahontas, Preston, Putnam, Raleigh, Randolph, Ritchie, Roane, Summers, Taylor, Tucker, Tyler, Upshur, Wayne, Webster, Wetzel, Wirt, Wood, Wyoming

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

West Virginia Code, Article 17C, Chapter 15, Section 17C-15-36a: Sun-screening devices; penalty



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in West Virginia?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

Washington Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in Washington were enacted in 2011. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Washington so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in Washington

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Washington is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on top 6 inches of the windshield.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 24% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 24% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 24% of light in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on top 6 inches of the windshield.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 24% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

Window tint reflection in Washington

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Washington window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.

Other Washington window tint rules and regulations:

Washington does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required in this state if back window is tinted.
  • Restricted Colors: Yellow, red and amber window tints are not allowed by Washington law.
  • Certificates: Film manufacturers need to certify the film they sell in the state of Washington. Check with your dealer if they are using certified film.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on the driver’s side window.
  • Medical Exceptions: Washington allows medical exemptions for special tint.
Keep in mind that Washington tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
Washington Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in Washington was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in Washington were enacted in 2011. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of Washington Info

Washington

Washington is a state in the Pacific Northwest region of the United States located north of Oregon, west of Idaho, and south of the Canadian province of British Columbia on the coast of the Pacific Ocean. Named after George Washington, the first President of the United States, the state was carved out of the western part of the Washington Territory which had been ceded by Britain in 1846 by the Oregon Treaty as a settlement of the Oregon Boundary Dispute. It was admitted to the Union as the 42nd state in 1889. Washington is the 18th most extensive and the 13th most populous of the 50 United States.

Capital: Olympia

Population: 6,897,012

Area: 71,300 sq mi (184,827 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in Washington: Seattle, Tacoma, Spokane, Bellevue, Olympia, Redmond, Everett, Bellingham, Renton, Yakima, Kirkland, Vancouver, Puyallup, Issaquah, Federal Way, Bothell, Lynnwood, Bremerton, Kennewick, Kent, Auburn, Tri-Cities, Forks, Wenatchee, Port Angeles, Richland, Gig Harbor, Walla Walla, Pasco, Pullman, Port Townsend, Woodinville, Edmonds, Marysville, Anacortes, Sequim, Mercer Island, Mount Vernon, Lakewood, Ellensburg, Bainbridge Island, Leavenworth, Poulsbo, Lacey, Tukwila, SeaTac, Shoreline, Fort Lewis, Sammamish, Port Orchard

Counties ▼

Counties in Washington: Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Clallam, Clark, Columbia, Cowlitz, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Grays Harbor, Island, Jefferso, King, Kitsap, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lewis, Lincoln, Mason, Okanogan, Pacific, Pend Oreille, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Spokane, Stevens, Thurston, Wahkiakum, Walla Walla, Whatcom, Whitman, Yakima

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

Revised Code of Washington section 46.37.430: Safety glazing - sunscreening or coloring



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in Washington?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

Virginia Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in Virginia were enacted in 1999. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Virginia so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in Virginia

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Virginia is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line (or top 5 inches).
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 50% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 50% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

With medical exemptions windshields can have 35% VLT on top 5 inches (AS-1 line) or 70% VLT across the entire windshield. Front side windows may have up to 35% VLT.

Window tint reflection in Virginia

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Virginia window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Other Virginia window tint rules and regulations:

Virginia does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required in Virginia if any window is tinted.
  • Restricted Colors: Red, yellow and amber window tints are not permitted.
  • Tint Variance: 7% variance in tint is allowed.
  • Certificates: Film manufacturers don't need to certify the film they sell in Virginia.
  • Stickers: Yes (unspecified).
  • Medical Exceptions: Virginia allows medical exemptions for special tint.
  • Penalties: Class 3 misdemeanor for first aoffense and Class 2 misdemeanor for subsequent offenses.
Keep in mind that Virginia tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
Virginia Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in Virginia was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in Virginia were enacted in 1999. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of Virginia Info

Virginia

Virginia is a U.S. state located in the South Atlantic region of the United States. The geography and climate of the Commonwealth are shaped by the Blue Ridge Mountains and the Chesapeake Bay, which provide habitat for much of its flora and fauna. The capital of the Commonwealth is Richmond; Virginia Beach is the most populous city, though Fairfax County is the most populous political subdivision.

Capital: Richmond

Population: 8,185,866

Area: 42,774.2 sq mi (110,785.67 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in Virginia: Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Richmond, Charlottesville, Newport News, Alexandria, Williamsburg, Chesapeake, Roanoke, Fredericksburg, Fairfax, Hampton, Manassas, Portsmouth, Falls Church, Lynchburg, Jamestown, Suffolk, Blacksburg, Harrisonburg, Leesburg, Winchester, Herndon, Quantico, Ashburn, Petersburg, Woodbridge, Staunton city, McLean, Vienna, Danville, Lexington city, Chincoteague, Altavista, Langley, Front Royal, Christiansburg, Midlothian, Abingdon, Culpeper, Warrenton, Waynesboro city, Farmville, Emporia, Glen Allen, Tangier, Stafford, Colonial Heights, Hot Springs, Salem

Counties ▼

Counties in Virginia: Accomack, Albemarle, Alexandria, Alleghany, Amelia, Amherst, Appomattox, Arlington, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, Bristol, Brunswick, Buchanan, Buckingham, Buena Vista, Campbell, Caroline, Carroll, Charles City, Charlotte, Charlottesville, Chesterfield, Clarke, Clifton Forge, Colonial Heights, Covington, Craig, Culpeper, Cumberland, Danville, Dickenson, Dinwiddie, Eastern Shore, Elizabeth City, Essex, Fairfax, Fairfax City, Falls Church, Fauquier, Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, Franklin, Frederick, Fredericksburg, Galax, Giles, Gloucester, Goochland, Grayson, Greene, Greensville, Halifax, Hampton, Hanover, Harrisonburg, Henrico, Henry, Highland, Hopewell, Isle of Wight, James City, King and Queen, King George, King William, Lancaster, Lee, Lexington, Loudoun, Louisa, Lunenburg, Lynchburg, Madison, Manassas, Manassas Park, Martinsville, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, Montgomery, Nansemond, Nelson, New Kent, Newport News, Norfolk, Northampton, Northumberland, Norton, Nottoway, Orange, Page, Patrick, Petersburg, Pittsylvania, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Prince William, Princess Anne, Pulaski, Radford, Rappahannock, Richmond, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Russell, Salem, Scott, Shenandoah, Smyth, Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Staunton, Suffolk, Surry, Sussex, Tazewell, Tidewater Area, Virginia Beach, Warren, Warwick, Washington, Waynesboro, Westmoreland, Williamsburg, Winchester, Wise, Wythe, York

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

Code of Virginia § 46.2-1052. Tinting films, signs, decals, and stickers on windshields, etc.; penalties.

Code of Virginia section 46.2-1052: Equipping certain motor vehicles with sun-shading or tinting films or applications

Vehicle Sun-Shading and Medical Waivers (Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles)


Medical exemption info:

Virginia DMV - Vehicle Sun-Shading Medical Authorization

Virginia DMV - Sun-Shading Medical Authorization Application (.pdf file)



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in Virginia?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

Vermont Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in Vermont were enacted in 1984. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Vermont so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in Vermont

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Vermont is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: No tint can be applied legally to this window.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: No tint can be applied legally to this window.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

Window tint reflection in Vermont

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Vermont window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.
  • Back Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.
  • Back Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.

Other Vermont window tint rules and regulations:

Vermont does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required in this state if back window is tinted.
  • Restricted Colors: Vermont does not prohibit usage of any tint colors.
  • Certificates: Film manufacturers don't need to certify the film.
  • Stickers: No sticker to identify legal tinting is required by law.
  • Medical Exceptions: Vermont tinting law permits medical exemptions and allows the use of darker tint.
Keep in mind that Vermont tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
Vermont Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in Vermont was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in Vermont were enacted in 1984. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of Vermont Info

Vermont

Vermont (VT) is a state in the New England region of the northeastern United States. Vermont is the 6th least extensive and the 2nd least populous of the 50 United States. The state of Vermont is the leading producer of maple syrup in the United States. The state capital is Montpelier, which has a population of 7,855 and is the least populous state capital in the country. Vermont's most populous city is Burlington, with a 2010 population of 42,417.

Capital: Montpelier

Population: 626,011

Area: 9,620 sq mi (24,923 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in Vermont: Burlington, Montpelier, Brattleboro, Stowe, South Burlington, Bennington, Killington, Middlebury, Manchester, Woodstock, Waterbury, Rutland City, Colchester, Essex Junction, St. Johnsbury, Williston, Shelburne, Winooski, Quechee, Adamant, Vergennes, Marlboro, Barre City, Bellows Falls, Waitsfield, St. Albans, Essex, Stratton, Springfield, Ludlow, Jericho, Morrisville, Newport, Thetford, Norwich, Wilmington, Shaftsbury, Windsor, Putney, Chester, Warren, Lyndonville, Northfield, Craftsbury, Milton, Dorset, Hartford, Hinesburg, Castleton, Rutland

Counties ▼

Counties in Vermont: Addison, Bennington, Caledonia, Chittenden, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, Orange, Orleans, Rutland, Washington, Windham, Windsor

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

Vermont Statutes Title 23, Chapter 13, Subchapter 1, section 1125: Obstructing windshields


Medical exemption info:

Vermont DMV - Application for window tint medical exemption permit (.pdf file)



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in Vermont?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

Utah Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in Utah were enacted in 2005. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Utah so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in Utah

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Utah is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line or top 4 inches.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line or top 4 inches.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

New Utah law goes into effect on May 22nd, 2022 permitting 35% VLT on front side windows. Until then front side window VLT is still 43%.

Window tint reflection in Utah

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Utah window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.
  • Back Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.
  • Back Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.

Other Utah window tint rules and regulations:

Utah does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required if any window behind driver is tinted.
  • Restricted Colors: Utah doesn't restrict any tint colors.
  • Tint Variance: 5%
  • Certificates: Film manufacturers are not required to certify the film they sell in this state.
  • Stickers: No sticker to identify legal tinting is required.
  • Medical Exceptions: Utah tint law doesn't allow medical exemptions that would allow you use special tint.
  • Penalties: Traffic infraction.
Keep in mind that Utah tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
Utah Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in Utah was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in Utah were enacted in 2005. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of Utah Info

Utah

Utah is the 13th-largest, the 34th-most populous, and the 10th-least-densely populated of the 50 United States. Approximately 80% of Utah's 2,817,222 people live along the Wasatch Front, centering on Salt Lake City, leaving vast expanses of the state nearly uninhabited. Utah is bordered by Colorado on the east, Wyoming on the northeast, Idaho on the north, Arizona on the south, and Nevada on the west. It also touches a corner of New Mexico on the southeast.

Capital: Salt Lake City

Population: 2,855,287

Area: 84,899 sq mi (219,887 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in Utah: Salt Lake City, Provo, Park City, Ogden, St. George, Moab, Orem, Vernal, Sandy, Cedar City, West Jordan, Logan, Snowbird, Bountiful, South Jordan, Lehi, Draper, West Valley City, Spanish Fork, American Fork, Kanab, Layton, Heber, Murray, Springville, Clearfield, Kiz, Pleasant Grove, Kaysville, Saratoga Springs, Herriman, Brigham City, Riverton, Hurricane, Brian Head, Tooele, Helper, Alpine, Midvale, Manti, Sego, Utah, Wendover, Canyon Cove, Price, Eagle Mountain, Springdale, Alta, Escalante, Richfield, Lindon

Counties ▼

Counties in Utah: Beaver, Box Elder, Cache, Carbon, Daggett, Davis, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Grand, Iron, Juab, Kane, Millard, Morgan, Piute, Rich, Salt Lake, San Juan, Sevier, Summit, Tooele, Uintah, Utah, Wasatch, Washington, Wayne, Weber

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

Utah Highway Patrol FAQ: Can I have tinting on the windows of my vehicle?

Utah Code: Title 41 (Motor Vehicles), Chapter 6a (Traffic Code), Part 16 (Vehicle Equipment), Section 1635 - Windshields and windows

S.B. 149 Tinted Vehicle Windows Amendments (New 2022 law)



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in Utah?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

Texas Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in Texas were enacted in 2009. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Texas so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in Texas

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Texas is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: 25% VLT tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line or top 5 inches, with less than 25% reflection.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 25% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used with side outside mirrors, 25% VLT without.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: 25% VLT tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line or top 5 inches, with less than 25% reflection.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 25% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used with side outside mirrors, 25% VLT without.

Window tint reflection in Texas

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Texas window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 25% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 25% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 25% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 25% reflective.

Other Texas window tint rules and regulations:

Texas does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: If rear window is tinted dual side mirrors are required.
  • Restricted Colors: Tint colors red, blue and amber are not permitted for use on windshields by Texas tint laws.
  • Certificates: Film manufacturers need to certify the film they sell in the state. Check with your dealer if they are using certified film.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on the driver’s side window.
  • Medical Exceptions: Texas allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult Texas tint laws.
Keep in mind that Texas tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
Texas Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in Texas was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in Texas were enacted in 2009. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of Texas Info

Texas

Texas is the second most populous and the second-largest of the 50 states in the United States of America, and the largest state in the 48 contiguous United States. Geographically located in the South Central part of the country, Texas shares an international border with the Mexican states of Chihuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo León and Tamaulipas to the south, and borders the U.S. states of New Mexico to the west, Oklahoma to the north, Arkansas to the northeast and Louisiana to the east. Texas has an area of 268,820 square miles (696,200 km2), and a growing population of 26.1 million residents. Houston is the largest city in Texas and the fourth-largest in the United States, while San Antonio is the second largest in the state and seventh largest in the United States. Texas has 254 counties, more than any other state.

Capital: Austin

Population: 26,059,203

Area: 268,581 sq mi (696,241 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in Texas: Houston, Dallas, Austin, Fort Worth, San Antonio, Waco, Corpus Christi, El Paso, Plano, Lubbock, Amarillo, West, Arlington, McAllen, Frisco, Grapevine, College Station, Marfa, McKinney, Sugar Land, Fredericksburg, Midland, Laredo, Tyler, New Braunfels, Denton, Killeen, Round Rock, Irving, Grand Prairie, Abilene, South Padre Island, Wichita Falls, Odessa, Brownsville, San Angelo, Katy, Beaumont, San Marcos, Point Blank, Carrollton, Humble, Longview, Richardson, Garland, Lewisville, Garden Ridge, Conroe, Clint, Port Aransas

Counties ▼

Counties in Texas: Anderson, Andrews, Angelina, Aransas, Archer, Armstrong, Atascosa, Austin, Bailey, Bandera, Bastrop, Baylor, Bee, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Borden, Bosque, Bowie, Brazoria, Brazos, Brewster, Briscoe, Brooks, Brown, Buchanan, Buchel, Burleson, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Callahan, Cameron, Camp, Carson, Cass, Castro, Chambers, Cherokee, Childress, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, Collin, Collingsworth, Colorado, Comal, Comanche, Concho, Cooke, Coryell, Cottle, Crane, Crockett, Crosby, Culberson, Dallam, Dallas, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Delta, Denton, DeWitt, Dickens, Dimmit, Donley, Duval, Eastland, Ector, Edwards, El Paso, Ellis, Encinal, Erath, Falls, Fannin, Fayette, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Foley, Fort Bend, Franklin, Freestone, Frio, Gaines, Galveston, Garza, Gillespie, Glasscock, Goliad, Gonzales, Gray, Grayson, Greer, Gregg, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hale, Hall, Hamilton, Hansford, Hardeman, Hardin, Harris, Harrison, Hartley, Haskell, Hays, Hemphill, Henderson, Hidalgo, Hill, Hockley, Hood, Hopkins, Houston, Howard, Hudspeth, Hunt, Hutchinson, Irion, Jack, Jackson, Jasper, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Johnson, Jones, Karnes, Kaufman, Kendall, Kenedy, Kent, Kerr, Kimble, King, Kinney, Kleberg, Knox, La Baca, La Salle, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Limestone, Lipscomb, Live Oak, Llano, Loving, Lubbock, Lynn, Madison, Marion, Martin, Mason, Matagorda, Maverick, McCulloch, McLennan, McMullen, Medina, Menard, Midland, Milam, Mills, Mitchell, Montague, Montgomery, Moore, Morris, Motley, Nacogdoches, Navarro, Newton, Nolan, Nueces, Ochiltree, Oldham, Orange, Palo Pinto, Panola, Parker, Parmer, Pecos, Polk, Potter, Presidio, Rains, Randall, Reagan, Real, Red River, Reeves, Refugio, Roberts, Robertson, Rockwall, Runnels, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, San Saba, Schleicher, Scurry, Shackelford, Shelby, Sherman, Smith, Somervell, Starr, Stephens, Sterling, Stonewall, Sutton, Swisher, Tarrant, Taylor, Terrell, Terry, Throckmorton, Titus, Tom Green, Travis, Trinity, Tyler, Upshur, Upton, Uvalde, Val Verde, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Ward, Washington, Webb, Wegefarth, Wharton, Wheeler, Wichita, Wilbarger, Willacy, Williamson, Wilson, Winkler, Wise, Wood, Yoakum, Young, Zapata, Zavala

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

Texas Department of Public Safety - Window Tinting Standards

Texas Administrative Code, Title 37 Part 1 Chapter 21: RULE §21.3 - Standards for Sunscreening and Privacy Window Devices


Medical exemption info:

Texas Department of Public Safety - Application for window tint medical exemption (PDF document)



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in Texas?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

Tennessee Window Tinting Laws

Tennessee window tint laws permit 70% VLT on windshields. All other windows may have 35% VLT (must allow more than 35% of light in). These tinting laws are valid for all vehicle types.

Car window tinting laws in Tennessee were enacted in 1990. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Tennessee so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in Tennessee

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Tennessee is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Must allow more than 70% of light in; any darkness on AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Must allow more than 70% of light in; any darkness on AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Window tint reflection in Tennessee

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Tennessee window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.
  • Back Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.
  • Back Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.

Other Tennessee window tint rules and regulations:

Tennessee does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: No restrictions on side mirrors.
  • Restricted Colors: No colors of tint are explicitly restricted.
  • Certificates: Film manufacturers are not required to certify the film they sell in Tennessee.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on the driver’s side window.
  • Medical Exceptions: Tennessee law allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law.
Keep in mind that Tennessee tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
Tennessee Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in Tennessee was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in Tennessee were enacted in 1990. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of Tennessee Info

Tennessee

Tennessee is a U.S. state located in the Southeastern United States, and it's the 36th most extensive and the 17th most populous of the 50 United States. Tennessee is bordered by Kentucky and Virginia to the north, North Carolina to the east, Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi to the south, and Arkansas and Missouri to the west. The Appalachian Mountains dominate the eastern part of the state, and the Mississippi River forms the state's western border. Tennessee's capital and second largest city is Nashville, which has a population of 609,644. Memphis is the state's largest city, with a population of 652,050.

Capital: Nashville

Population: 6,456,243

Area: 42,143 sq mi (109,247 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in Tennessee: Nashville, Memphis, Chattanooga, Knoxville, Gatlinburg, Murfreesboro, Pigeon Forge, Clarksville, Johnson City, Franklin, Kingsport, Oak Ridge, Sevierville, Cookeville, Maryville, Hendersonville, Brentwood, Jackson, Germantown, Crossville, Mt. Juliet, Cleveland, Greeneville, Bristol, Collierville, Morristown, Lebanon, Smyrna, Gallatin, Manchester, Spring Hill, Columbia, Lynchburg, Goodlettsville, Jonesborough, Bartlett, Elizabethton, Tullahoma, McMinnville, Sewanee, Dyersburg, La Vergne, Athens, Shelbyville, Cordova, Paris, Millington, Antioch, Townsend, Alcoa

Counties ▼

Counties in Tennessee: Anderson, Bedford, Benton, Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Cannon, Carroll, Carter, Cheatham, Chester, Claiborne, Clay, Cocke, Coffee, Crockett, Cumberland, Davidson, Decatur, DeKalb, Dickson, Dyer,Fayette, Fentress, Franklin, Gibson, Giles, Grainger, Greene, Grundy, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardeman, Hardin, Hawkins, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, James, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Lake, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Loudon, Macon, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Maury, McMinn, McNairy, Meigs, Monroe, Montgomery, Moore, Morgan, Obion, Overton, Perry, Pickett, Polk, Putnam, Rhea, Roane, Robertson, Rutherford, Scott, Sequatchie, Sevier, Shelby, Smith, State Level Sites, Stewart, Sullivan, Sumner, Tipton, Trousdale, Unicoi, Union, Van Buren, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Weakley, White, Williamson, Wilson

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

Tennessee Code section 55-9-107: Motor vehicle windows with tinting, reflecting, or sun screen material.

Tennessee law Title 55 Chapter 9 Part 1 (search for "windows with tinting")



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in Tennessee?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

South Dakota Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in South Dakota were enacted in 1989. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in South Dakota so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in South Dakota

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in South Dakota is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 20% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 20% of light in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 20% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 20% of light in.

Window tint reflection in South Dakota

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. South Dakota window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
  • Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
  • Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Other South Dakota window tint rules and regulations:

South Dakota does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: There are no restrictions on side mirrors in South Dakota.
  • Restricted Colors: No colors of tint are explicitly restricted.
  • Tint Variance: 9% variance.
  • Certificates: Film manufacturers need to certify the film they sell in South Dakota. Check with your dealer if they are using certified film.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on each tinted window.
  • Medical Exceptions: South Dakota law does not allow any medical exemptions that would allow using special car window tint.
  • Penalties: Class 2 misdemeanor.
Keep in mind that South Dakota tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
South Dakota Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in South Dakota was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in South Dakota were enacted in 1989. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of South Dakota Info

South Dakota

South Dakota is a state located in the Midwestern region of the United States. It is named after the Lakota and Dakota Sioux American Indian tribes. South Dakota is the 17th most extensive, but the 5th least populous and the 5th least densely populated of the 50 United States. Once the southern portion of the Dakota Territory, South Dakota became a state on November 2, 1889 simultaneously with North Dakota. Pierre is the state capital and Sioux Falls, with a population of 159,000, is South Dakota's largest city.

Capital: Pierre

Population: 833,354

Area: 77,116 sq mi (199,905 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in South Dakota: Sioux Falls, Rapid City, Deadwood, Brookings, Sturgis, Pierre, Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, Spearfish, Yankton, Vermillion, Aberdeen, Watertown, Mitchell, Hot Springs, Rosebud Indian Reservation, Dupree, Keystone, Belle Fourche, Custer, Huron, Lead, Hill City, De Smet, Mobridge, Oral, Madison, Milbank, Winner, Brandon, Cheyenne River Indian Reservation, Onida, Dakota Dunes, Box Elder, Corsica, Chamberlain, Sisseton, Tea, Dell Rapids, Wall, Summerset, Canton, Faith, Holabird, Shindler, Interior, Eagle Butte, Flandreau, Murdo, Nemo, Harrisburg

Counties ▼

Counties in South Dakota: Armstrong, Aurora, Beadle, Bennett, Bon Homme, Boreman, Brookings, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Butte, Campbell, Charles Mix, Choteau, Clark, Clay, Codington, Corson, Custer, Davison, Day, Delano, Deuel, Dewey, Douglas, Edmunds, Ewing, Fall River, Faulk, Grant, Gregory, Haakon, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Harding, Hughes, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jackson, Jayne, Jerauld, Jones, Kingsbury, Lake, Lawrence, Lincoln, Lugenbeel, Lyman, Marshall, Martin, McCook, McPherson, Meade, Mellette, Meyer, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Nowlin, Pennington, Perkins, Potter, Pratt, Presho, Rinehart, Roberts, Rusk, Sanborn, Schnasse, Scobey, Shannon, Spink, Stanley, Sterling, Sully, Todd, Tripp, Turner, Union, Wagner, Walworth, Washabaugh, Washington, Yankton, Ziebach

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

South Dakota Codified Laws sections 32-15-2.4 through 32-15-5: Sunscreening devices



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in South Dakota?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

South Carolina Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in South Carolina were enacted in 1992. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in South Carolina so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in South Carolina

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in South Carolina is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 27% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 27% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 27% of light in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 27% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be applied several (unspecified) inches from the top of the window.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

Window tint reflection in South Carolina

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. South Carolina window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: Must be non reflective, state law is not specific about what this means.
  • Back Side windows: Must be non reflective, state law is not specific about what this means.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: Must be non reflective, state law is not specific about what this means.
  • Back Side windows: Must be non reflective, state law is not specific about what this means.

Other South Carolina window tint rules and regulations:

South Carolina does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required if back window is tinted.
  • Restricted Colors: Tint colors red, amber and yellow are not permitted by law.
  • Certificates: Film manufacturers need to certify the film they sell in South Carolina. Check with your dealer if they are using certified film.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on each tinted window.
  • Medical Exceptions: South Carolina allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law.
  • Penalties: Misdemeanor with minimum $200 fine or 30 days in prison for each offense.
Keep in mind that South Carolina tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
South Carolina Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in South Carolina was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in South Carolina were enacted in 1992. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of South Carolina Info

South Carolina

South Carolina is a state in the Southeastern United States. It is bordered to the north by North Carolina; to the south and west by Georgia, located across the Savannah River; and to the east by the Atlantic Ocean. It's the 40th most extensive and the 24th most populous of the 50 United States, and comprises of 46 counties. The capital and largest city of the state is Columbia.

Capital: Columbia

Population: 4,723,723

Area: 32,020 sq mi (82,931. km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in South Carolina: Charleston, Myrtle Beach, Greenville, Columbia, Hilton Head Island, Spartanburg, Mount Pleasant, Summerville, Beaufort, North Charleston, Rock Hill, Florence, Anderson, Bluffton, Fort Mill, Isle of Palms, Aiken, Pawleys Island, Sumter, Folly Beach, Greer, Conway, Murrells Inlet, North Myrtle Beach, Simpsonville, Goose Creek, Georgetown, Surfside Beach, Lexington, Orangeburg, Sullivan's Island, Moncks Corner, Clemson, Gaffney, Greenwood, Parris Island, Easley, Seabrook Island, Walterboro, Irmo, Hartsville, Seneca, Camden, Edisto Beach, North Augusta, West Columbia, Travelers Rest, Edgefield, Mauldin, Blythewood

Counties ▼

Counties in South Carolina: Abbeville, Aiken, Allendale, Anderson, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Cherokee, Chester, chesterfield, clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Edgefield, Fairfield, Florence, Georgetown, Greenville, Greenwood, Hampton, Horry, Jasper, Kershaw, Lancaster, Laurens, Lee, Lexington, Marion, Marlboro, McCormick, Newberry, Oconee, Orangeburg, Pickens, Richland, Saluda, Spartanburg, Sumter, Union, Williamsburg, York

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

South Carolina Code of Laws section 56-5-5015: Sunscreen devices. (scroll to section 56-5-5015)



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in South Carolina?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

Rhode Island Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in Rhode Island were enacted in 2000. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Rhode Island so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in Rhode Island

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Rhode Island is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 70% of light in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

Window tint reflection in Rhode Island

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Rhode Island window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: Law does not specify any reflection restrictions.
  • Back Side windows: Law does not specify any reflection restrictions.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: Law does not specify any reflection restrictions.
  • Back Side windows: Law does not specify any reflection restrictions.

Other Rhode Island window tint rules and regulations:

Rhode Island does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: No restrictions.
  • Restricted Colors: All window tint colors are allowed.
  • Certificates: Film manufacturers are not required to certify the film they sell in Rhode Island.
  • Stickers: No sticker to identify legal tinting is required by law.
  • Medical Exceptions: Rhode Island allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law.
  • Penalties: Up to $250 per offense (§ 31-23.3-5).
Keep in mind that Rhode Island tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
Rhode Island Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in Rhode Island was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in Rhode Island were enacted in 2000. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of Rhode Island Info

Rhode Island

Rhode Island is a state in the New England region of the United States. Rhode Island is the smallest in area, the eighth least populous, but the second most densely populated of the 50 US states behind New Jersey. Rhode Island is bordered by Connecticut to the west and Massachusetts to the north and east, and it shares a water boundary with New York's Long Island to the southwest. Rhode Island's official nickname is "The Ocean State", a reference to the State's geography, since the state has several large bays and inlets that amount to about 14% of its total area.

Capital: Providence

Population: 1,050,292

Area: 1,214 sq mi (3,140 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in Rhode Island: Providence, Newport, Warwick, Cranston, Pawtucket, Woonsocket, North Kingstown, East Providence, Narragansett, Westerly, East Greenwich, Cumberland, Bristol, South Kingstown, North Providence, Smithfield, Coventry, Portsmouth, Middletown, Central Falls, West Warwick, Barrington, Tiverton, Johnston, Charlestown, Lincoln, Jamestown, Scituate, Watch Hill, Rhode Island, Little Compton, North Smithfield, Burrillville, Kingston, Warren, Wickford, Glocester, Exeter, Hopkinton, West Greenwich, Richmond, Rumford, Pawtuxet Village, Riverside, Chepachet, Foster, Saunderstown, Kingston Station, Lime Rock, New Shoreham, Bristol Ferry

Counties ▼

Counties in Rhode Island: Bristol, Kent, Newport, Providence, Washington

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 31-23.3: Non-Transparent Windshields and Windows



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in Rhode Island?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

Pennsylvania Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in Pennsylvania were enacted in 1999. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Pennsylvania so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in Pennsylvania

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Pennsylvania is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Must allow more than 70% of light in, any darkness on top 3 inches.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 70% of light in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Must allow more than 70% of light in, any darkness on top 3 inches.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

Window tint reflection in Pennsylvania

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Pennsylvania window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.
  • Back Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.
  • Back Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.

Other Pennsylvania window tint rules and regulations:

Pennsylvania does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required if back window is tinted.
  • Restricted Colors: No colors of tint are explicitly banned.
  • Certificates: Film manufacturers are not required to certify the film they sell in Pennsylvania.
  • Stickers: Sticker to identify legal tinting is required in this state.
  • Medical Exceptions: Pennsylvania allows medical exemptions for special tint.
Keep in mind that Pennsylvania tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
Pennsylvania Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in Pennsylvania was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in Pennsylvania were enacted in 1999. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of Pennsylvania Info

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania, officially the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, is a US state that is located in the Northeastern and Mid-Atlantic regions of the United States, and the Great Lakes region. The state borders Delaware to the southeast, Maryland to the south, West Virginia to the southwest, Ohio to the west, Lake Erie and Ontario, Canada to the northwest, New York to the north and New Jersey to the east. Pennsylvania is the 33rd most extensive, the 6th most populous, and the 9th most densely populated of the 50 United States. The state's four most populous cities are Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Allentown, and Erie.

Capital: Harrisburg

Population: 12,763,536

Area: 46,055 sq mi (119,283 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in Pennsylvania: Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Harrisburg, Allentown, Lancaster, Centralia, State College, Erie, Bethlehem, Reading, King of Prussia, York, West Chester, Gettysburg, Altoona, Easton, Carlisle, New Hope, Johnstown, Doylestown, Manheim, Latrobe, Paint, Pottstown, Greensburg, Bensalem Township, Phoenixville, Norristown, Jim Thorpe, Hazleton, Chambersburg, Malvern, Upper Darby, Media, Lititz, Lansdale, Downingtown, Green Tree, Emporium, Pottsville, Conshohocken, Wayne, New Castle, Coatesville, Cranberry Township, Washington, Chester, Quakertown, Monroeville, Lebanon

Counties ▼

Counties in Pennsylvania: Adams, Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Berks, Blair, Bradford, Bucks, Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Carbon, Centre, Chester, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Columbia, Crawford, Cumberland, Dauphin, Delaware, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Forest, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lancaster, Lawrence, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Perry, Philadelphia, Pike, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder, Somerset, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Venango, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Westmoreland, Wyoming, York

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation: Vehicle Window Tint Fact Sheet (.pdf file)

Pennsylvania Code Title 75 - VEHICLES, § 4524

PA Code Chapter 175 Title 67: § 175.67. Glazing.



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in Pennsylvania?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!

Oregon Window Tinting Laws

Car window tinting laws in Oregon were enacted in 2003. We have provided all the necessary information about your car's window tint, including how dark or reflective the tint is allowed in your state. There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Oregon so make sure you read all about it below.

Window tint darkness in Oregon

The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Oregon is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Tint darkness for SUV and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

Window tint reflection in Oregon

Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Oregon window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well.

Tint reflection for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 13% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 13% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUV and vans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 13% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 13% reflective.

Other Oregon window tint rules and regulations:

Oregon does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:

  • Side Mirrors: If any window behind driver is tinted dual side mirrors are required.
  • Restricted Colors: Red, gold, yellow, amber or black tint colors are not permitted by law.
  • Certificates: Tint installers must provide you with a certificate stating light transmittance and reflectance.
  • Stickers: No sticker to identify legal tinting is required by law.
  • Medical Exceptions: Oregon allows medical exemptions for darker tint.
  • Penalties: Class B traffic violation with $360 fine.
Keep in mind that Oregon tinting laws and regulations may be interpreted differently in your county or place of residence. We always recommend double-checking our information with your local DMV or law enforcement authorities.
Oregon Tint Laws Our information about window tint laws in Oregon was last updated in 2022. Tinting laws in Oregon were enacted in 2003. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State of Oregon Info

Oregon

Oregon is a state in the Pacific Northwest region of the United States. It is located on the Pacific coast, with Washington to the north, California to the south, Nevada on the southeast and Idaho to the east. The Columbia and Snake rivers delineate much of Oregon's northern and eastern boundaries, respectively. Oregon is the 9th most expansive and the 27th most populous of the 50 United States. Salem is the state's capital and third-most-populous city; Portland is the most populous. Portland is the 29th-largest U.S. city, with a population of 603,106 (2012 estimate) and a metro population of 2,262,605 (2011 estimate), the 23rd-largest U.S. metro area.

Capital: Salem

Population: 3,899,353

Area: 98,381 sq mi (255,026 km2)

Cities ▼

Cities in Oregon: Portland, Bend, Eugene, Salem, Beaverton, Corvallis, Medford, Hillsboro, Ashland, Lake Oswego, Grants Pass, Coos Bay, Klamath Falls, Oregon City, Newport, Astoria, Seaside, Lincoln City, Cannon Beach, Gresham, Tigard, Roseburg, McMinnville, Fossil, Brookings, The Dalles, Hood River, Albany, Florence, Springfield, Redmond, Milwaukie, La Grande, Pendleton, Bandon, Newberg, Tualatin, Sherwood, Wilsonville, West Linn, Helix, Sisters, Boring, Baker City, Power City, Forest Grove, Tillamook, Prineville, Minam, Hermiston

Counties ▼

Counties in Oregon: Baker, Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Crook, Curry, Deschutes, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jackson, Jefferson, Josephine, Klamath, Lake, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Malheur, Marion, Morrow, Multnomah, Polk, Sherman, Tillamook, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, Washington, Wheeler, Yamhill

Wikipedia

State website


Tint law references:

Oregon Vehicle Code section 815.221: Tinting; authorized and prohibited materials; certificate. (PDF file; scroll to section 815.221)

Oregon Department of Transportation: Frequently asked questions about window tinting (.pdf file)

Oregon Department of Transportation: Vehicle Equipment Standards (see under FAQ - Windows)



Ask a Traffic Lawyer Now

We have partnered with JustAnswer to provide you with immediate legal help.

Have questions about traffic or tinting laws in Oregon?

Ask professional lawyers without having to pay hundreds of $$$ in legal fees just for visiting their office! Traffic law experts are on call 24/7 ready to answer any question you have.

Type your question in the form provided or ask legal experts on JustAnswer directly!